New Changes in Canada’s Reference on Occupations

The NOC 2016 system will be replaced in fall 2022.

The National Occupational Classification (NOC), which is Canada’s reference on occupations, categorizes about 30,000 job titles into 500 unit groups according to four skill levels. It reflects the nature of the Canadian labour market and helps the government manage its economic immigration programs. The NOC undergoes a major overhaul every 10 years. In September, Statistics Canada (StatCan) and Social Development Canada (ESDC) unveiled a new system called Training, Education, Experience and Responsibility (TEER), which will be effective as of fall 2022.

There are two reasons for this change, according to StatCan. First, it provides more clarity on the level of education and working experience in an occupation. Second, the TEER system is believed to give stakeholders a better sense of the amount of skill required for each occupation.

What are the differences between the TEER system and the NOC 2016? 

The TEER system no longer uses skill type categories (NOC A, B, C, D), but uses a five-tier hierarchial system to classify occupations. Occupations will have a five-digit codification instead of the current four-digit code. TEER will have six categories (0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5).

TEER 0 occupations include legislative and senior management occupations that generally require and have a significant level of experience, knowledge, and responsibilities related to resource planning and directing.

TEER 1 occupations usually require university education or previous experience and expertise in subject matter knowledge from a related occupation found within TEER 2.

TEER 2 occupations usually require post-secondary education of two to three years, or apprenticeship training of two to five years, or occupations with supervisory or significant safety (police officers and firefighters) responsibilities;
or several years of experience in a related occupation from TEER 3 (when applicable).

TEER 3 occupations usually require post-secondary education of less than two years, or apprenticeship training of less than two years, or more than six months of on-the-job training, training courses or specific work experience with some secondary school education;
or several years of experience in a related occupation from TEER 4 (when applicable).

TEER 4 or TEER 5 occupations usually require a high-school diploma or no formal education is classified.

While 30 per cent of occupations in the NOC 2016 are in skill level C and D, 27 per cent of occupations in the new system are in TEER 4 and 5. This means there are more occupations in TEER 0, 1 and 2. Some people may be eligible for additional programs since their working experience has been reclasssified. It is yet unknown if the Express Entry program will include only TEER 0, 1 and 2 and exclude TEER 4 and 5, as it does with NOC C and D of the NOC 2016.

This post is also available in: Tiếng Việt

#seesomething, saysomething

Culture Magazin magazine always wants to listen and receive contributions from readers.
In case you submit articles about your ideas, interesting social events or hot news that you would like to share with us, email us at or inbox us at the FB page -
Try our test reporter once. Quality articles will be selected and posted on Culturemagazin's website and official social networking sites!
#seesomething, saysomething


Bài Liên Quan